For the Love of Savanna

Savanna is 8 Months Old Today– 4/9/2006

Posted on: April 9, 2006

8/9/06) Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday my dear, sweet Savanna, happy birthday to you. I just can’t believe you are 8 mos. old already. You are still wearing 3-6 mos old clothes. The last doctor visit you weighed 16.6 lbs. I’m sure you are up to 17 lbs now! I love your spunky spirit, I love everything about you. Your smile lights up a room and your laugh is contagious. Maybe it’s just a “mom” thing but I think everybody who has met you loves you.  What I have learned since Savanna came into my life

1.  How to change a messy diaper.

2.  Remember to put another diaper down quickly so Savanna doesn’t pee all over the place (learned that the hard way).

3.  Sniff butt.

4.  Pick a baby’s nose.

5.  Dodge head butting.

6.  Watch for little hands that want to pull your hair. Don’t be stupid enough to wear earrings!

7.  Watch out for “rasberries” at meal time. If you don’t move out of the way, food will be in your face (learned that the hard way too).

8.  Everything takes triple the time to complete.

9.  Bath time can be really fun… splash, splash, splash.

10.  Teething is NOT fun.

11.  Holding, rocking, talking softly, singing (even with a bad out of tune voice) can ease the saddest of baby cries.

12.  My torso is better than a bed.

13.  A smile really is better than a thousand words.

14.  Sleep isn’t as vital as I once thought (but it is NOT overrated!)

15.  Enjoy each moment and experience excitement at each new discovery.

16.  Take time to be “in the moment”– that’s how bonding occurs.

17.  I am in love with a baby Savanna.

Update

 Savanna, my Queen, is sleeping much better. She takes a nap for approx. an hour 3-4 times a day. She still prefers to sleep on my torso but is transitioning nicely to the bed (mine). She will wake up during the night, cry, look over at me and “worm” herself over to me so that her little body is touching mine. She quickly falls back asleep. I’ve tried to have her sleep in her crib (the one that I put together with my own two hands) a few times and every time she wakes up she screams bloody murder and doesn’t sleep but 2-3 hours that night. For some reason, it totally stresses her out. Life isn’t about me anymore, it’s about making the Queen comfortable and able to trust me and know her environment is safe. I sure hope that I won’t be sleeping with her for the next 16 years!

Savanna is eating well. Still loves her bottle too. Savanna loves to babble and coo. She is very vocal and loves to play the “huh” game– she’ll say “huh” then wait for me to say “huh”. She smiles and laughs every time we play this silly little game of hers. She’s still into “peek-a-boo”. She’s just so doggone cute!

I think we are both doing better because there’s a bit more of a routine. Being “in tune” with her needs helps me to anticipate what activities can be done, or not done.

I will get her 8 month old pictures taken at Sears this week. I’ve already got the dress, tights, shoes picked out.

I’m hoping all of my RL and Blog buddies (and babies) are happy and well.

4 Responses to "Savanna is 8 Months Old Today– 4/9/2006"

Yes, those diaper changes can get quite messy! You have to have the diaper poised “Just so” in order to avoid getting wet.

She’s sounds like the sweetest thing! Congratulations.

Written by: Erin at 2006/04/09 – 22:52:27

What a beautiful post 🙂 So glad to hear all of those happy things! Can’t wait to see new pictures. What a sweetie!

Written by: Lisa at 2006/04/10 – 02:19:21

I have learned all of those things too – except change my from Savanna to Marissa.
I really enjoyed this post. I can tell how in love with you are….and apparently she is bonding well to you! That is just fabulous!
Oh I can’t wait to see the 8 month pictures!!!

Written by: Karen at 2006/04/10 – 23:00:39

I haven’t been sprayed yet by Gabe, but there has been much poop on the carpet…and the crib…and everywhere else.

Happy 8 mths Savannah!

Written by: KimN at 2006/04/12 – 16:16:50

Leave a comment

Copyright

Copyright notice! All original content on this site is the property of the author and may not be reproduced, in whole or in part, without prior written consent. Copyright 2007-2008. ©
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution -NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License. Photography 2005-2007 Pictures Betsy M Betsy M -->

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 36,496 hits